Breaking Bad, Season 5, Episode 11 – Confessions

Well, Breaking Bad. If you haven’t seen Breaking Bad yet, you’ve been missing out. I know I’ve said something similar about Game of Thrones, but I understand that the whole “fantasy” genre may not be to the taste of everyone. There’s no excuse with Breaking Bad. I got the first two seasons for Christmas, but after that, didn’t get much further. A reactivation of my Netflix account, and I’m back up to speed. Honestly, this programme is like meth (I’d assume), it’s so addictive. Spoilers ahoy, I want to talk about the latest episode – Confessions.

_________________________________

Alright, so it kicks off with Todd and family chatting about the beginning of their own meth empire or something along those lines – Todd telling them about the new Great Train Robbery and that. Not much of note, but I feel it will come to a head in the last couple of episodes.

Hank won’t give up his pursuit of Walt, however he faces a dilemma; if he goes to them and says the man he has been chasing all this time was his brother-in-law, his career is over. It’s a rock and a hard place for Dean Norris’ character, and you have to feel for him. To be honest, I feel for Walt too. He didn’t want this, let’s be honest. He’s not the scared man he was at the beginning, and he may be the danger and The One How Knocks, but he’s still a caring family man. Still, that hasn’t stopped him threatening to frame Hank, so I might be taking the side of an asshole. Do I normally swear on here? Sorry. One thing is for certain, Bryan Cranston has changed a fair bit since his days as Hal in Malcolm in the Middle.

That said, the man in this episode was Jesse Pinkman. His emotional state has been fragile (to say the least) this season, and Aaron Paul’s acting has been superb; he’s carried it off perfectly. Going from sad to angry and back again, it was a roller coaster for him here, embracing Walt when he is requested to leave, even going through with it, until the realisation that it was Hank who poisoned Brock. His rage against Saul (another fantastic performance courtesy of Bob Odenkirk) made me feel for Saul, but then, Jesse has reason to be upset. Maybe not like that, but hey. The finale really got me excited though – the apparent revelation that it was Jesse who burned down the White residence (as shown in the opening of the first episode since the return of this season) is telling me that this show is going out with a bang. Hopefully accompanied by The Pretender’s “Boots of Chinese Plastic” again. Such a great scene. I’m getting sidetracked again.

Here he is, just prior to "angry-face, splashy-petrol" Jesse.

Here he is, just prior to “angry-face, splashy-petrol” Jesse.

Yeah, Marie and Skyler didn’t seem all that relevant this episode, aside from Marie watching Walt’s “confession” – that really sold it for me. I barely remember Jr. being in it, although it’s been a few days since I watched it. A big episode though, it’s got me excited for the final stretch. As I said earlier, if you haven’t watched it, why not? Also, why did you read this? Forget everything I wrote, go watch it, then come back and read this again. Two views from the same person! Winner! Until then!

1 comment

Leave a Reply

