Team Crossword

Alright, I’m not really sure what else to do at the moment, so it’s another Windows 8 game for Xbox, or whatever they’re going by these days. Please don’t hate me. This is really interesting, it’s about…crosswords. This won’t take long.

Here's one I did earlier.

Here’s one I did earlier.

So, it’s about crosswords. I know I just said that, but I really don’t know what else to say. You get power ups and other aids to help you out, as the questions, for the most part, seem overly cryptic. They’re easy once you start to understand how it words things, but to begin with, it’s pretty daunting. Add to the fact that it doesn’t tell if you if the answers are split into different words, there’s more of an entry barrier than you’d expect. As I said, there’s powerups though, as well as a built in Bing search for answers on the easiest mode, but that’s pretty pathetic in truth, if you really want it to just give you the answer, then why are you playing? Yeah, there’s different difficulties which strip the help away, but you either have to pay real money or save your tokens to get these. Still, if you want more of a challenge, you may well do it.

Here's one I'm doing now.

Here’s one I’m doing now.

The cool new aspect about the game is the fact that you can team up with others to work together to complete the crosswords, getting the best score possible with your friends. You can join public games if you like, you don’t need a team to get some help, but there are achievements locked to working with a team. Oh yeah, the achievements. They’re easy for the most part, I guess, just some annoying ones. Nothing thrilling though; if you’re a completion working on it, you’ll have most of them in no time, aside from the “do 10 daily crosswords” one.

Here's on I gave up with.

Here’s one I gave up with.

When I first downloaded it, I had a fair few server problems and couldn’t connect at all. That seems to have subsided now, but I’ve barely written anything and I needed to throw something in before my conclusion. Yeah, so there you go. It’s free, so there’s no reason not to check it out really (provided you’re on Windows 8 of course). I’d recommend it, I guess. I’m just not that enthusiastic about it. If you’ve played it, let me know what you think. If you have a team, let me know. I’d play it every now and then, and I’m pretty lonely. Until then.

Leave a Reply

