2013/14 Fantasy Football Team

Alright, at the time of writing, I still haven’t finished my Money In The Bank review. I will at some point, it’s recorded on Sky+, but I’ve been busy, by my standards anyway! Right, in a recent email, I was reminded about the fantasy football service the the Premier League does. Well, I’ve made my team. Yup. How does that relate to Thom’s Reviews. I’ll tell you – it’s currently on Rap Genius where I’m annotating my choices; similarly to the Tottenham Hotspur squad review I did, I’m bringing it, along with the annotations, to Thom’s Reviews. Hope you enjoy this, let me know what you think of my choices. If you have any leagues you want me to join or anything (almost certainly not going to happen), let me know and I may join you! Oh, one last thing, the annotations will be updated as they are on the Rap Genius page. Cool!

_________________________________

4-4-2 formation – starred players are in starting XI.

GK
Hart (Man City)*
Davis (Southampton)

DEF
Vertonghen (Spurs) (Vice captain)*

In my opinion, last season Vertonghen was as crucial to Tottenham’s success as Bale himself. Despite Bale being regarded as the second coming of Pelé (my words, not those of anyone else) due to his phemonemal season (yes, I was exaggerating) he is only one man.

Yes, I hear the cries of “one-man team” and the like, but that’s impossible, you need other players to get top-5 (that still hurts). Vertonghen is one of those men. Rightly regarded as one of the best defenders of the season last season, earning his place on the team of the…season, I don’t see that form dipping this coming…season.

A future Tottenham captain in my opinion, things are looking big for Jan the Man!

Luiz (Chelsea)*

I do not like this man. I was going to say I hate him, but that’s not fair at all, I can’t hate someone I don’t know unless they’ve done something terrible, and I don’t believe he has. Aside from his flopping around, like a football version of Ric Flair. Woooooo!

Nah, my jesting aside, I didn’t like the whole fall-over-and-smile thing. That said, he is a phenomenal football player. He looked impressive in the Confederations Cup, so I’ve got reason to believe that form will carry over to next season. Come on Bob, keep it up.

Baines (Everton)*
Aspillcueta (Chelsea)*
Baker (Aston Villa)

MID
Gareth Bale (Spurs) (Captain)*

Is there any need for an annotation on this one. The best player in the league this past season, a player that, contrary to popular belief on the last day of the season, will not be leaving. Oh yeah, captain too. I want double points on everything this man does.

Snodgrass (Norwich)*
Routeledge (Swansea)*
Ramires (Chelsea)*
Johnson (Norwich)

FW
Benteke (Aston Villa)*
Soldado (Spurs)*
Moore (Swansea)

Leave a Reply

