WWE All Stars

Maaaaan, that closing line! Give this review, from the 16th of May 2011, some love, I was young and my writing career was just beginning! Hope you enjoy it though. Oh yeah, and the introduction has reminded me I actually had blogs before the 2011 Blogger! May need to find these!

_________________________________

A little about myself first, my name is Thom and I wanted to start another blog after my ones from 2007, 2008 and 2009 sort of fell apart after me forgetting about them. I also wanted to do something I hadn’t before and I thought reviewing would be a good idea. After thinking of this, I needed inspiration to start, what could be easier than one of my more recent LoveFilm rentals. I’ll tell you what could be easier…nothing. Before I start, I should probably keep you up to date with WWE’s name. It’s not wrestling. At all. It’s WWE. Not WWF, not World Wrestling entertainment, not World Wrestling Federation, it is just WWE. That said, this is a wrestling game in its entirety.

Failed attempt at humour out of the way, I’ll get on with it. Another note, any game I talk about is going to be played on the Xbox 360. Ahh, I’ve got to stop getting off track with this! WWE All Stars came out on April 1st 2011 in the UK.  This release could be seen as something of an April Fools’ Day joke as it just doesn’t have enough depth to be a full price retail game, does it? It’s not a bad game at all, it’s good if you’re looking for something to spend quarter of an hour or so on with your mates, but beyond that, it doesn’t hold up to the regular SvR yearly series. Of course the main attraction of the game is the WWE Legends vs WWE Superstars concept. Shockingly there are some major inclusions that fans begged for, but didn’t expect to happen. Randy Savage and Ultimate Warrior are both thought to have some sort of bad blood with the WWE according to members of the IWC (internet wrestling community) but maybe this will start to dispel the rumours, at least with regard to Macho Man with his recent action figure too. Oooooh yeahhh!

Graphically, this game is a lot of fun. Bright colours everywhere, exaggerated characters with even greater exaggeration on their moves, it makes great advert sure, but this is probably the best part of the game.

[Note: A John Cena image from the game was here. I wish I could have kept it in, I liked the caption below. Never mind, the caption is still there, so it’s all good!]

I’m on the internet aren’t I? I suppose this is where I’m supposed to say Cena only has five moves and can’t wrestle right? Wrong. Cena is the best wrestler in the world today! Aside from Michael Tarver of course. He’s just awesome.

Gameplay is simple, in a sort of arcade style. Unfortunately, what this translates to is that it is a button bashing experience for the most part, jostling to be on top of your opponent (literally as well as figuratively) with reversals seeming to be a random occurrence when you happen to hit the RB at the time the game determines correct. There’s the selection of exhibition matches you can play, which are limited to a select few like cage, tornado tag, handicap, extreme rules and singles off the top of my head. There are a few ladder style modes to play through, but truth be told, I was bored after the first one. Online play can be fun, but more often than not, it is just a complete lag fest, one of the most frustrating things I’ve ever played. They did include one good feature-you cannot pause and rage quit if you’re losing, but that doesn’t stop people-as I was about to pick up my first win, I was doing my finisher, about to get the knockout and they either returned to the dashboard or turned it off. I went bananas for a minute.

I think I’ve covered most things here. It’s not a bad game, I think I’m being quite harsh but then, I didn’t exactly have a great time, I only kept it for about a week or so, take that how you will. I’m going to do my final scores in a matter similar to the fantastic website xbox360achievements.org as I feel they give you pretty much all you need to know on a game.

Audio: Nothing special really, good to have all the entrance themes, some good voice acting and it is great to hear JR on commentary, but nothing really sticks out in my mind as memorable. 70/100

Visuals: Probably the best aspect of the game, everything is colourful and fun, but I was not really a fan of the exaggerated looks of the wrestlers, truth be told I found it a little creepy haha. 80/100

Playability: Just not where it should have been. Fun at times, don’t get me wrong, but you can often miss by a fraction when trying to grapple for example and it’s so frustrating. 55/100

Delivery: Like visuals, the package as a whole is impressive, although there is a small roster with some questionable choices for an “internet smark” such as myself to use, it is what most fans would love to play. I’m not complaining much about that. 80/100

Achievements: They’re okay. I liked some of them, things like teaming up as Rowdy Roddy Piper and Drew McIntyre are inventive. Beating everyone with HHH? Less so, just grinding. Still, more inventive than a lot of games out at the moment. 60/100

Overall: It’s not that bad truly. The key word for me was frustration. It could have been so much more than it was, but it wasn’t as much of a let down as it may have come across in the review, I think I was a little hard on it. Overall, I would give this game 69/100!

Well, now the first one is out of the way, if anyone actually read this, feel free to comment telling me how to improve these and if you liked it or not. If there is any sort of reaction, I’ll try to keep going. We’ll have to wait and see eh? That’s the bottom line, ’cause t-ro said so!

Leave a Reply

