Jme – JME

I’m certainly desperate to get all of these across, aren’t I? Today it’s the first of my two past Jme reviews, this time of, in my opinion, the best song from his sophomore album, BLAM!, Jme. This review was originally published on the Blogger on the 16th of May, 2011. Yeah, again, this one uses a rating system at the end. Again, I’m not sure what I was thinking. Still a big song though, so here it is! The Murking review is sure to follow, so keep an eye out for that!

Oh yeah, one more thing. I’ve gone in on the Rap Genius page for this song, so check that out too! Back to the review.

_________________________________

I’m not sure what it is, but I’m just in the mood to keep going with this right now. Maybe it’s that I really don’t feel like revising (more likely than not) or it could be the I wanted to try to spread the word on an absolutely incredible song. This has been out for a while now, on Jme’s album BLAM! (which I honestly cannot praise enough) and I feel this is the best song on an album full of songs which could easily be a greatest hits album or something. It’s that good. You know it’s going to be a good one as soon as you hear that “Teddy!” at the start of a track, I’d go as far as to say every beat I’ve heard by Teddy (formerly DJ Silencer) has been incredible. The beat just makes you want the song to go on forever, it’s awesome. As well as that, the lyrics are completely on point. It wasn’t until midway through last year I really started to listen to grime; I’d heard a load of Dizzee Rascal and a couple of Skepta songs that I really liked but didn’t really pay as much attention to the genre as I now know I should have, as soon as I started listening to Jme I was hooked on it, going back at listening to Famous? and old mixtapes which have now been released as History. If you haven’t got a clue what I’m talking about, please go find out right now. I’ll wait here, no problem.

Have you done that? Nice, I trust you aren’t disappointed, so now I’ll get back to the track in question. The lyrics, as previously stated are top-notch. Starting talking about growing up, with a couple of Street Fighter references thrown in for good measure it goes through all manner of topics including flip-flops, bank balances and common sense, it all comes together to form something that is funny but serious (SERIOUS!) at the same time. If you don’t think this song is incredible I don’t know what to say!

Give it a watch. As soon as you have, go get the album BLAM! from iTunes. This guy deserves it.

Alright, I’m going to try to keep the scores the same as the previous one but obviously on different categories as this isn’t a game…that really doesn’t need to be said at all.

Beat: I’ve already praised this enough, Teddy is a master at crafting grime beats so there’s really nothing I can fault here. However, I’m not one for giving out perfect scores, that will probably make the rest of my reviews look weaker, so it’s not going to be perfect here, I know Teddy will just keep improving! 90/100

Lyrics: As much as I just said I don’t want to give perfect scores, I can’t help it here. I’ve listened to this so many times and I still crack up when I listen to it. Genius need to be recognised! 100/100

Video: This is hilarious. I can’t say enough how much this cracks me up. The NERF Gun, the antelope/goat (I’m not sure, all the comments on YouTube have me changing my mind what it is) and the skanking all crack me up. 95/100

Overall: What can I say? This is one of my favourite songs of all time. I can’t help myself. I had to review this at some point and now it’s done. I’ll give it an overall of 95/100! I would probably say it was a perfect song if I was just talking to a friend about it, but honestly, I think Jme is still yet to reach his full potential so I reckon when the next album comes, something may be able to top it! Moesh!

Leave a Reply

